The Second Kaneko Award Ceremony

The Kaneko Award was founded last year commemorating the centennial of the establishment of the America-Japan Society. The Award is given to those who worked for long years to promote people to people exchanges between Japan and the United States. It is given to people who worked on grass roots level. In addition, prominent person who have also made contributions to Japan-US relations is recognized with the Special Award. AJS will host the ceremony. On this occasion, we invite Ms. Carolyn B. Glassman, Minister-Counselor Public Affairs of the US Embassy to provide us with a speech ”Japan-US Cultural Exchanges”  Please join us.


Recipients: Dr.Jeannette E.South-Paul.

                       (Recommended by Japan-America Society of Pennsylvania for her long time

                       contribution in home medicine field between US and Japan )

                    Mr. Hiromi Hasai

                       (Recommended by America-Japan Society of Hiroshima.

                       He promotes students baseball exchanges between Hawaii and Hiroshima)


The Special Award: Mr. Yoshiro Ito

                     (President of America-Japan Society of Hokkaido. President of Ito Company

                 who did the great contribution for the relation with US Naval Forces

                  and for the relation between Hokkaido and states of Massachusetts and Oregon)


Date & Time:  Tuesday, October 23, 2018 

            17:00                         Registration

            17:30~18:00     Ceremony

            18:00~18:30      Special Talk by Ms. Carolyn B. Glassman (in English)

            18:30~20:00      Reception (buffet)


Place: The International House of Japan (B1  Iwasaki Hall and Kabayama Room)

      (5-11-16 Roppongi, Minato-ku, Tokyo, 106-0032  Tel: 03-3470-4611)


Language:  English and Japanese


Fee:  Free  (First come first served basis up to 100)


Deadline:  Thursday, October 18, 2018